Author Topic: Google Drive  (Read 2849 times)

itsdavid

• View Profile
Google Drive
« on: 2014-10-23 15:48:49 »
My TPv9sp1 is set up to keep track of all of my picture and videos in my Windows Library. I want to keep my media backup up off site, say, with Google Drive. Here's my question: Is there any reason I shouldn't simply drag my Pictures and Vidoes folders (in my Library) to my local Google Drive? Or...

To compound my question, for one reason or another that has escaped me over time, I've been creating Keywords for many many years via the Network directory. In other words, I go to my Network folder to work with my TP (I don't go directly to the Library Pictures and Videos folders [except to add files from my cameras].

Last night I noticed only the keywords only "show" if I go "through" my network folder to view my media; if I go to the Pictures and Videos folder, the keywords aren't there. So, should I just drag the Network folders (Pictures and Videos) to my local google drive location....and then just delete the Pictures and Videos folders from the Library?

It's amazing how complicated it is to explain a simple task like tying your shoes....in writing....

Thank you for your help!

Daan van Rooijen

• Administrator
    • View Profile
Google Drive
« Reply #1 on: 2014-10-23 19:04:56 »
ThumbsPlus identifies image files by their name and location, and it matches the files to their thumbnail records that same way. So, image files thumbnailed through their network location are considered separate from the same files thumbnailed through their local path. That explains why your keywords only show up with the thumbnails that were created through the network path.

> I want to keep my media backup up off site, say, with Google Drive. Here's my question: Is there any reason I shouldn't simply drag my Pictures and Vidoes folders (in my Library) to my local Google Drive? Or...

No, just be careful not to move them (instead of copy).