Author Topic: Web Page Wizard creates broken links.  (Read 3446 times)

rpMTL

• View Profile
Web Page Wizard creates broken links.
« on: 2016-01-11 17:34:32 »
The first version of TP that I purchased was v3 and I kept upgrading until v5 or v6, can't remember. I'm now back to giving it another chance and have installed the v10 trial on a system running Windows 10.

As a commercial photographer I've used Photoshop's "Web Photo Gallery" plugin for many years to generate simple table based image browsers that can easily be edited to taste. I use a script to strip out the old table html tags and then style the result in a CSS stylesheet. It's a quick and easy way to get my photos online for clients to view in a contact sheet format and the system continues to work well.

Adobe has discontinued support for its "Web Photo Gallery" plugin since the perpetual license version of CS6. So I'm looking for a replacement and remembered that TP offers a simple method of creating table based browsers.

My first attempt has failed. Using the sample images included with the TP installation I created a web browser and all the image links are broken. I chose custom folders for both the images and the thumbnails and the browsers still think the images are in the root of the site:

Testing folder name is "TP_Test", the custom images folder name is "images", and the custom thumbnails folder name is thumbnails"

Here are the resulting HTML links:

The thumbnails link (for example) becomes:
img src="tn_barn_jpg.jpg"
when it should be
img src="thumbnails/tn_barn_jpg.jpg"

Images on each page becomes:
img src="barn.jpg"
when it should be
img src="images/barn.jpg"

I followed each "Web Page Wizard" configuration pane carefully and repeated the exercise numerous times and the same error appears.

Am I doing something wrong?

Also, why are the JPG thumbnail names appended with"_jpg"?

Russell

Daan van Rooijen

• Administrator
    • View Profile
« Reply #1 on: 2016-01-11 20:00:12 »